SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Buying a second hand scope

Hi all,

I hope I have posted this in the right section. I am interested in buying a second hand scope (specifically an ED apochromatic refractor). I am fairly new to astronomy and only just starting to get my head around the finer details. What I want to know is what should I be looking for when going to see a second hand telescope and how should I go about inspecting it.

I might suspect the only true way is to test it out by looking at a star but with the longer nights it is most likely it will be in daylight.

My other interest is cars which I know my way around well so I have a long mental list of all of the things I will check such as brakes, suspension, oil/coolant condition, engine running sounds, oil leaks, service history, paperwork etc.

What I want to know is do you more experienced telescope owners, who have bought second hand, have a similar list of things to check.

Also, because I am still learning my way around these telescopes, it might be useful to descibe (or better still show with a picture) what is bad/not ideal.

I appreciate any advice that can be offered.

Thanks,

Martin

Take a torch with you and inspect the lens, that's the most important thing. Allow for specs of dust, but obviously not spider webs, scratches or cracks!

No dents in the scope tube, chipped paintwork is ok but nothing that suggests it's been dropped or walloped.

Twiddle the focuser in and out, check it's smooth and does'nt slip.

If it comes with a finder, check the optics on that with your torch same as the scope lens.

Maybe check the tube rings too, they release ok and are firmly attached to the dovetail bar. If they have an underside of felt check that too.

have a look on AB&S as you are largely buying from the astro community and on the whole decent folk as well as sellers.....

Oh and you will no doubt get better and more experienced responses than mine, good hunting!