NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

sktwatcher explorer 200p

Hi Guy's need a bit of advice with my scope, Firstly I'm a newbie and the problems I'm have is this... firstly i though i had the dec balance good but after about an hour and a half i was moving scope to a new area of sky ( not moving tripod) got scope on orion but when i was fine tuning the dec the scope slipped down rather than moved up to the object, the clutch seemed to be slipping... is the normal? the scope is new. secondly while focusing with a 10mm and 2x barlow (200 mag) the image is wobbling and very difficult to focus,.... is this normal? I have an EQ5, i thought this was a good mount. also loking at jupiter with 200x mag, I'm not seeing much detail as the image is very bright, is this also right? tried different mag and still cant get the image up for the brightness. Thanks guys ( in anticipation) Vince ;)

• 2 weeks later...
Hi Guy's need a bit of advice with my scope, Firstly I'm a newbie and the problems I'm have is this... firstly i though i had the dec balance good but after about an hour and a half i was moving scope to a new area of sky ( not moving tripod) got scope on orion but when i was fine tuning the dec the scope slipped down rather than moved up to the object, the clutch seemed to be slipping... is the normal? the scope is new. secondly while focusing with a 10mm and 2x barlow (200 mag) the image is wobbling and very difficult to focus,.... is this normal? I have an EQ5, i thought this was a good mount. also loking at jupiter with 200x mag, I'm not seeing much detail as the image is very bright, is this also right? tried different mag and still cant get the image up for the brightness. Thanks guys ( in anticipation) Vince :(

Hi mate, well I also recently bought a 200p but I think I can answer some of your questions.