Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron or Skywatcher

Hi

I am on the road to purchase my first scope. I am torn between Skywatcher 127 Mak AZ Goto and a Celestron 127 Omni XLT.

I am interested in astro-photography and would like to capture planets and DSOs. It may be an overreach on my budget, however, I wanted to put forth my aspirations for any suggestions.

i am fairly new to astronomy myself,so i can only advise you upto where i am at.first off all before atempting to photograph the night sky,get to know you way around the night sky with the book turn left at orion,then when you decide which telescope to buy get to know the equipment first,know what it can and cannot see,most of all have fun with it.we are using a skywatcher 130m and a celestron nexstar 4se,both have their limitations but both are equally good and fun to use.i would say let astronomy take hold first then move onto photogrophy or video,the team here can help you ore than i can,as for which telescope i would say if you can stretch the budget i would consider the celestron.it has a very good mount i belive,others here will tell you the mount is very important for astrophotography.so i would look in that direction,

ask around and see what other members here will say..

Hi

I am on the road to purchase my first scope. I am torn between Skywatcher 127 Mak AZ Goto and a Celestron 127 Omni XLT.

I am interested in astro-photography and would like to capture planets and DSOs. It may be an overreach on my budget, however, I wanted to put forth my aspirations for any suggestions.

127 Mak is for planetary/lunary viewing and imaging. Those scopes aren't designed for DS imaging (very dark f-ratio) as well as those mounts aren't good for long time exposures.