Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Did I push it too far?

mdhardy01

Hi all newbie here

Please go easy on me it's my first post

Bought myself a sw 127 goto mak and must say have been really pleased with it.

Been reading all the posts on setting up the goto and found this forum sooo helpful.

Bought myself a Meade 4000 32mm plossle and a 12.5 as well which for orion are fantastic and also Jupiter are great.

Now for what I think was my mistake

I then bought a wo 6mm spl thinking Jupiter and especially mars would explode into view with more detail and clarity

Was hoping to see the polar caps on mars but could not even make out anything other than a red blob

Then I did the math and 250 x mag I think is too much?

So did I push it to far?

Would I be better off with a 8-9 or 10 mm ep?

And any recommendations upto £100 greatly appreciated

Many thanks

Matt

If your scope was properly cooled and collimated and, critically, the seeing conditions are good then you should be able to use around 180x on Jupiter and 220x or so on Mars. I don't think either will "explode into view with more detail and clarity" though - the improvements you see are usually much more subtle than that and need observing time at the eyepiece to train your eye to spot them.

250x is going to be too much power for much of the time to be honest. I have an ED120 refractor and find that the most useful planetary and lunar magnifications are 150x, 180x and 225x. Occasionally I can use 250x but rarely. With your scope I'd be thinking of 9mm and 7mm eyepieces with the 6mm in reserve for occasional use.

Welcome to the forum by the way !

Thanks for the quick reply John

When I said explode into view I didn't mean I was expecting to see everything just some more detail sorry if I worded that wrong

The detail on Jupiter with the 12mm is good just quite small and was hoping for a larger view like I get when I Barlow the 12mm