NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Horsehead and Flame - 1st real attempt

malc-c

Other than the single long exposure I took whilst gathering tracking data, this is my first attempt at the Horse head nebula. I've waited 26 years to get this... my previous attempts with my old 102 Vixen refractor and film based camera always failed...

10 x 5min exposures + 5 x 5min darks all at 1600ISO

Stacked in DeepSky Stacker, and curves and colours tweaked in Photoshop.

EDIT:

Why is it that the pictures always look different on the forum then when saved and viewed locally. Heck even the thumbnail has better coloration than the full size image !

post-23388-133877722986_thumb.png

Hi Malc,

lovely image - however with regards to your comment about colour shift between Photoshop and viewing on the web - the `fix` is easy. The easiest way is to `softproof` your images in Photoshop, what this does is shifts the colour palette to simulate what you will see when uploaded and viewed on the web. Its easy to setup. In Photoshop click on VIEW -> PROOF SETUP then make sure Monitor RGB is checked. Then all you need to do is turn on Softproofing by pressing CTRL-Y - you will see the colour shift and you can now work on the image knowing what you see will look exactly the same on the web (in the majoirty of modern browsers).. Try it out and let me know if it works for you, if not I am sure we can sort it somehow.

Hi Malc,