Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First (technically second) light with the Skywatcher 250px

Crimson Sunset

Hi all.

I got to take my new beastly baby outside for the first time last night after an agonising couple of days waiting inside thanks to our lovely climate up here. Now, i'm very new to the hobby so i might not know what im talking about here, but this scope seems to be on the verge of what i would call "practical", in the sense that anything bigger would be a bit of a pain to move in and out of the house.

Anyway, on to the obeserving!

First port of call was, as should be expected, Jupiter. My goodness it's a thing of beauty, especially after only seeing it through binoculars. That initial "WOW" moment was only with the 25mm eyepiece (48x mag), so i upped the mag to 120 with the 10mm eyepiece and was amazed. I could only make out the north and south equatorial belts at first, but with a bit more searching there were hints of other small belts, i can only imagine what it'll look like at 200x. :)

Next were M31 and M42. M31, as i had read before, isn't terribly impressive. It's just a big smudge, less detailed than in binoculars. Thankfully I was expecting just a smudge so wasn't let down horribly!

M42 on the other hand is much nicer, i could make out the general shape, with darker bits protruding into the nebulosity. I imagine it will look better with a filter, but stilla good looking object compared to m31.