Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Accessories for SW 200p Dob

Well folks, I got my 200p for xmas and have been really bitten by the bug!

I opted for the Revelation eyepiece set as my first addition to the setup.

On the whole I'm really pleased with the scope, some smashing views of Jupiter at the moment and the other night saw quite a bit of M42.

I think there is a lot of room to improve the views I am getting (particularly of M42) by adding some filters and some better quality eyepieces. Planetary views are pretty good so I was going to concentrate on widefield and learn some star-hopping.

Can anyone offer some advice for improving the wide field view quality? Is light pollution, collimation and seeing quality more of an influence than a high quality eyepiece?

As a complete beginner I'm having to strongly resist the urge to splash on an Ethos 21mm! :D

Get the Hyperion 8-24mm Clickstop Zoom eyepiece! I have the same cope as you and also started astronomy since Christmas.

I had a go on the above name eyepiece and have fallen in love with it! I also was very fortunate and got to try out a few of my friends Televue eyepieces (including ethos and panoptic models) and they are absolutely brilliant!

If I win the lottery my eyepiece set will consist of the Hyperion zoom and an array if televues! :D

I've been looking at the Telrad finder also-they are good for star hopping.

Felix

Skywatcher Skyliner 200p Dobsonian

Celestron Skymaster 15x70 Binoculars

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You'll be fine for quite some time with the Revelation eyepieces.

First purchase needs to be a Cheshire collimator.

A Rigel finder or a red dot is very useful. Telrads are good too, but heavy - you'll need a counterweight.

Get a variable polarising moon filter, then when you've found you way around the sky a bit, go for a UHC (ultra high contrast) filter for nebulae, such as the veil.