Skyliner Dobsonian 8 or 10 inch

Hi All,

After a month of fussing and faffing trying to decide what scope to go for, and asking for advice in this forum I have decided to opt for a Skyliner Dobsonian. Now another question has come up. What would be the difference in the Skywatcher sky-liner 8 inch at £285 and the 10 inch at £459 (apart from the obvious 2 inches in size and extra £174(That will buy a nice second hand DSLR)). Will their be a marked improvement between the 2 and is it worth spending the extra cash? I am interested in mostly planets with the view to using the scope for some astro imagery in the future.

Thanks Paul:icon_scratch:

The difference between the 8 and the 10 is that the 10 will gather even more light(its aperture is 250mm).This means that youll be able to see fainter Deep sky objects brighter.If you have the money and you want to spend them go for the 10".I am also new to astronomy and to this forum and im considering on buying the skywatcher 8" dobsonian cause i cant afford the 10"..

Now astrophotography is a difficult thing to do with dobsonian mounts and its not recommended.If you want to do serious AP youll need an equatorial mount with motors to autotrack the planets and mostly DSO's while the earth is spinning.this means that youll need at least a HEQ-5 or even better a CG-5 mount with Goto control.Its sad but AP is a very expensive hobby cause of the expensive equipment and maybe we'll have to stick with observation at first..

Kiriakos

For imaging planets a webcam is the appropriate tool. An alt/az mount will be accurate enough for this (eg a dob or fork mounted Mak/Sct) but a dob will need to be a "tracking" dob.

To image dso's you'd need an accurately polar aligned equatorial mount and either a dslr or a ccd camera (and most likely guiding). This will extend your budget to at least £1000 if done cheaply with second hand gear.