Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Another newbie setup thread advice

Hi all,

So I'm a newbie at all this astronomy stuff but keen to learn.

My daughter also has a keen interest and will be joining me on this new hobby.

We/I am interested in astrophotography and would like some advice and help with a good reliable and effective setup please.

So I'm currently looking on the narket for a canon dslr (budget approx £200-£300) this will be for general photography and if possible astro??

Then once I get my head around all the technical features (iso/appature ect ect) we will get a telescope (budget again £200-£300 approx) but which one to purchase? Simple setup and portable (we live in London) also would it be best to get a motorised telescope with a database? In more interested in the planets/lunar and solar stuff but my daughter is interested in nebulae/galaxies ect which I think = more money??

Next question is can we/I do this stuff with live view or is it all via the viewer as id prefer to see the image on a screen?

Also have read something about waiting for the scope to cool down before viewing??

Before we purchase anything we would like to attend some local meetings so if anyone can point us in the right direction that would be great.

Are my/our expectations too high with what I have asked for in terms of budget and what we would like to get out of all this?? By that I mean if I get a budget/beginner telescope will all we be able to view is a faint blur of say Saturn or Jupiter for example?? Obviously don't mind purchasing extra bits of kit to improve a setup as we venture further along in this hobby.

Anyway any help/advice/links/books to read ect much appreciated.

Thanks

Richard