Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Les Granges, Sunstar France

Jiggy 67

Hi all,

Couple of weeks ago I returned from a week's stay at Les Grange in the South of France and I would just like to write a few lines about the experiance. I'm no expert as an astronomer so I'm only going to write in general terms, plus if I was to write in detail, this would be a very long post!!

I'm sure you all know Olly, he is a regular contributer to the forums, particurlay when it comes to imaging and I can now add that he is a thoroughly nice bloke who is extremely lucky to live where he does and I would like to take the opportunity to thank him and his partner, Monique, for a fantastic week.

Right, Les Granges is located in the South of France, about 5km from the climbing mecca, Orpierre (handy if you want to kill two birds...). Olly's place is a farmhouse, close to a very small village, at about 3,000m above sea level. We drove from the Northwest of England, using my car.....taking the Eurotunnel. Once in Calais, its a 9hr drive to Olly's (assuming you don't avoid the toll roads) so we stopped over halfway and the same on the return leg. The motorways are completely empty so its a pleasant drive, just set the cruise control to 80mph and you won't change gear for three hours!

We arrived at Les Granges around mid afternoon on the Thursday (the tom tom took us straight there) and we were immediately impressed with the setting. Les Granges is set in stunning hillsides with amazing views, so much so that my wife spent the next 5 or 6 days sat out with the binos watching deer and wild boar and loved every minute of it. The farmhouse itself is comfortable with everything you need, dishwasher, washing machine etc. We hired the whole house, so Olly and Monique were in a flat attached, it was ideal really.