NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Upgrades or buy new? Advice for relative newbie please.

Folks,

New member and relative astro newbie here. I've trawled the archives and picked up lots of advice, but now need to actually post a question <gulp>.

I have a (very) old Orion SX-150 6" Newt on a heavy pedastle with EQ mount, 25mm and 9mm Vixen Super Plossl eyepieces and Barlow. I received all this (gratis!) about 4 years ago, and it had been sat in the previous owners shed for many years before that.

While it works, I have some usability issues and seek advice.

• [li]The rig is rock solid, but completely ungeared. One has to push/pull to move, no slow-motion controls, etc. What sort of replacement mount would be suitable for a 6" Newt? Can one purchase a mount without legs, since I'm guessing that the pedastle will be more rigid than a tripod? I've seen EQ5 mounts second hand for ~£200, but new 6" scopes for less! I've also considered building my own Dob mount for ease of use
    [/li]
    [li]The rack and pinion focuser is quite "gritty". I've not yet tried to dismantle and clean it (if possible), but how worthwhile would a Crayford be on a 'scope of this age and modest size? They seem to cost ~£80?
    [/li]
    [li]The mirror looks filthy! I've read lots on cleaning it, bought the soap flakes, distilled water and cotton wool, but not braved it yet. I'm nervous about collimation, especially as I can't see how to adjust the secondary.
    [/li]

Given that I can get a new 8" Dob (Skyliner or the Telescope-Service.com versions) for <£250, 10" < £350, are the above upgrades worth it or am I better off buying new?

Please don't take the above "criticisms" as me being ungrateful. I'm truly not. I LOVE this stuff. My 1st sighting of Saturn on the night I 1st got the scope (with my father-in-law balancing the OTA because we couldn't work the mount!) blew me away, but I know I can do better. I'm also a self-confessed gadget freak.