NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Jammed RA gear on EQ-1

Hello from Canada everyone!

I think I've just proven the old rule "buyer beware".

Even though I have 4 new 'scopes including a C8 CGEM, I'm still a relative newbie.

I just bought a used Skywatcher EQ-1 mount with RA motor for my 102mm refractor from a "guy" who posted on a local astronomy site. Well it turns out that the RA gear is jammed solid. The motor "ticks" over inside the box, but no turning of the RA gears. Same thing when I try manually, even with a lot of strength.

The RA mount actually turns (along with the graduated disc), but not the gear underneath, nor the pinion gear to which it's attached, therefore no control for tracking or photography.

When I e-mailed the seller, he fobbed me off by saying it's "normal", that the pinion screw has reached its end, and I just have to "unscrew" it and it will work. I mailed him back to tell him that this kind of pinion screw has no "end", it's just supposed to turn and engage the gears on the RA mount.

I've yet to receive an answer on that one (three days gone).

Any ideas on how to unjam these gears, or was I completely had?

Thanks,

Jerome Tremblay

Montreal

Hi Jerome, first up... welcome to SGL :)

Not got an EQ-1, but some thoughts come to mind.

1 - Is there a tension adjuster for the RA worm gear? Could it be that it just needs tweaking to engage with the driven gear inside?

2 - Are there plastic gears somewhere in the drive-train? Could one, or more, have been stripped?

Sorry can't be much more help :icon_eek:

Hi Jarome.

I know very little about your mount but as an engineer my solution would be to strip the whole thing down and go through it stage by stage.

If this process seams daunting to you I would advise you take photos before each step and then you will have a reference for when the time comes for you to reassemble the mount.

Just a thought.