NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Double images

Hi all.

I am new to all this forum stuff and I need an answer to a simple question.

I have tried to check the collimation my 8 inch reflector using a laser. I note that the laser beam is not a dot but is being scattered into a 10mm sized blob on the primary mirror.

Is this normal or do I have a problem with the secondary mirror?

The reason for the check is I have started getting double images through the eye piece and using my philips 900 camera to get decent photos is impossible.

Thanks

Graham.

Welcome to the group!

One thing you may not be aware of is that lasers can and do go out of (or arrive out of) collimation. here's a way to check How-to Collimate a Laser Collimator - How To but you could rig up something more simple I suppose.

Personally I prefer a sight tube, collimation cap and Cheshire eyepiece to do my collimation.

Just as a quick check try the following:

• take the plug out of the focuser and the cap off the end
  • do all this at a shallow angle in case anything drops down the tube
  • looking back from a distance, you'll be able to see if the secondary shape is round - if not then you'll have to turn it slightly to get a round shape
  • place your eye close to and as centrally as possible in the focuser
  • do you see all three mirror clips? if you do then it's close enough if not then adjust (I presume you have a guide to collimation - maybe Astrobaby's guide?)
  • then assuming you have a barlow (any quality will do), put the barlow in the focuser and insert the laser - switch on
  • you should just be able to see the large shadow of the doughnut on the face of the laser collimator - if not then move one of the primary collimation screws a little and you should see it. centre this dark shadow on the hole in the collimator face and you should then be collimated.