SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

SW Equinox 80 focuser problem

Hello,

I have been loitering around the forum for a few months now but this is my first thread.

As the title suggests my SW Equinox 80 has developed a focuser issue.

currently the draw tube is sticking at part of the movement and also some worrying gouge marks have been developing over the last few months since tightening up the focuser to account for the weight of attached equipment.

I have attached an image showing part of the problem.

On closer inspection it looks like the draw tube is no longer centred in the focuser.

My understanding is that the draw tube is held in place by two bearings and the third point which is the friction plate.

Am I right to assume that the bearing has gone? Is is fixable or terminal?

Pretty new to all this so not tried to fix it other than messing about with the tension grub screw which makes no difference.

If you could cast your thoughts that would be great!

Ouch! I just could not get mine to hold focus with my heavy camera, but I didn't want to over-tighten the two adjusters I knew about.

Then someone on SGL mentioned a third adjusting screw they found.

The third adjusting screw is located mid-way between the focussing knobs on the bottom of the tube?

It sounds like you haven't found or tightened this up alongside the top two.

It would mean you wouldn't have to have the other two quite so tight, which would cause this problem.

Dave

Thanks Eagleseye :-)

Well in my haste to find the problem I stripped down the focuser.

It would appear that two of the screws holding the bearings on that side were loose. I have tightened these up and reassembled the focuser however I need to teak alignment it would seem as it is a bit squeaky now when moving the drawtube in and out. I suspect I shall also have to add some grease to the bearings.

It feels as if the drawtube is not perfectly aligned in the focuser.