NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Whale and Hockey Stick Galaxies

Neil I

I took this image over 4 nights last week and it consists of 6hrs of subs. Even with this exposure time with the 1000D the galaxies still seem pretty dim and it's proved pretty difficult to process without getting swamped by noise. After several processing attempts the best image seems to be the one with the least processing. This has just has 2 iterations of levels and curves and some noise reduction. This is my first attempt at these targets so I'm pleased with how it's turned out. Maybe some more subs will help.

What has really made a difference with last weeks imaging is having the scope permanently setup in my garage/obsy. No more lugging the kit outside and drift aligning. It now takes 10 mins to get up and running, instead of closer an hour with the portable setup. Best thing I've done in years :D

post-14123-133877597754_thumb.jpg

Exellent image!

I've been struggling with a similar set-up and image target recently and see you are using, as I do, an unmodded 1000D - what settings are you using please? Especially white balance? Are you using any filters? My own images seem to be predominanty bluish with very little red! You seem to have captured the "reds" well!!

Exellent image!

I've been struggling with a similar set-up and image target recently and see you are using, as I do, an unmodded 1000D - what settings are you using please? Especially white balance? Are you using any filters? My own images seem to be predominanty bluish with very little red! You seem to have captured the "reds" well!!

Thanks mate :D