Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

webcam astrophotography with a mac?

So my Philips webcam will be with me in a few weeks (sitting at father in laws at the moment) and I want to start taking some pictures. I have bootcamp installed on my Mac laptop so can run windows programmes but would prefer a native mac option if possible to cut down the steps to save the images. All the tutorials I've seen seem to use windows and I wondered whether there is a mac option and whether it is as good.

I'm on a MacBook (late '09) and have tried a few OSX programs. I'm afraid I've not found any of them as complete or as useable as the Windows alternatives.

Bootcamp FTW ;)

There is a Mac users group (Community / Social Groups) that has some posts about OSX software, I'd suggest going and having a look at them and seeing if any of the software works better for you than I found it :p

Astronomy apps on OSX are sadly lacking.

I'm a mac developer and currently putting together a framework that should allow any application using it to support any device. It will make development of OSX applications easier and allowing developers to focus on the usability/features rather than writing drivers for equipment that doesn't support OSX. It's called AOSX.

I hope this will provide an attractive platform for equipment vendors to write an AOSX plugin which I'm attempting to make a quick and simple affair.

My plan is to provide initial support for the cams I have access to - ATIK 16ic (USB FT232BM) and MS HD lifecam (USB Quicktime) - then publish it as opensource and push tracking etc. I hope others will then step in for their hardware - companies like starlight xpress have published their control protocols but I don't have the hardware to test on. If it takes off I can use that position to ask for a loan in return for developing a driver.