Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First 'scope on a budget

im buying my first telescope this week and ive pretty much decided which one but i thought id get a few pointers on here first.

first of all my budget is £180 max

i live in a town centre but my back garden is very dark, no lights at all, apart from a neighbours security light which i will cover when observing.

i have little knowledge of the skies, spotting orion and the big dipper is about my limit.

i think my area of interest will mainly be astrophotography and DSO's

im willing to start with the basics, learn my way around the skies, so i dont want GOTO id rather buy a bigger aperture scope.

taking all of the above into account im pretty sure im going to get a skywatcher 130p.

my main question is what will i be able to see with this scope, will i be able to see DSO's or do i need to go bigger? i guess what i really asking is, will i get quickly frustrated with a 5 inch scope or will it keep me interested until funds allow for a bigger scope?

welcome to sgl I have a 5inch scope some of the brighter nebula's are possible the andromeda galaxy can be seen as a smudge. I recently came back from a site very much darker than my usual site and have to say that 5 inches will only get the brighter nebulas even under dark skies. however that still leaves clusters, planets the moon, lots of double stars plenty to see in fact. but I have to say other than imaging the moon and planets with a webcam astrophotography is impossible with your budget unless somebody gives you most of the equipment.

i have the 130p and its a cracking "little" scope but as good as it is, it is limited to what it can do, i would say in my opinion for astrophotography is it a no no, can see the bright DSO`s with lack of detail (smudges) and good on planets, its a good mobile & visual scope.

using this scope will help you learn the skies, and getting to grips with the movement of an eq mount.