NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Guiding; will it work on a smaller Eq mount?

nightvision

I am new to imaging; I was thinking of building a cheap guided setup. Will a guider work on a smaller Eq mount? I was thinking of getting a motorised Eq3-2 and using a guider with laptop software.

I have a SW F9 100ED scope and would put a SW ST80 on top for the guide camera.

Would this arrangement work OK for short DSLR exposures? I realise it wouldn't be as stable as a Eq5 or Eq6 but would it work for sub 1 minutes exposures on a windless night?

Thanks, Tony.

It will work but the limitation here could be backlash and containing it - how much backlash is there on your mount and drive? The standard RA motor for the EQ3-2 is a little 'clunky' but by modifying the hand controller by soldering parallel cables onto the key pads and using an external relay box (semiconductor or actual relays) you could certainly do it.

I made a mod like this to my original non-GoTo EQ6 and it certainly made a worthwhile improvement. Details on how I did it can be found on my website here. Exactly the same principles would apply to your EQ3-2.

Thanks for that Steve, I am just starting to read your brilliant book and skim reading the part on modifing the hand controller. I only have an old meade (4504-Starfinder-Autostar) goto tracking Eq mount that I know isn't suitable, I use it with my 300D only.

I can get a EQ3-2 for a good price and then thought of the hand controller with mod and then if feasible adding a guide-camera.

I am OK with electronics so no challenges there.

Tony.