NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Imaging the Milky-Way in Suffolk

Newbie Advice really. I'm just starting out with an interest in both astronomy (pending scope purchase) and astro-photography. I live in Suffolk which affords some beautiful unhindered skylines, but was wondering on suitable locations from which to take wide-field shots of our own Milky-Way. Is there any real prospects of capturing the types of images seem on the Internet or am I only likely to see this kind of thing if on a remote island somehwhere in the South Pacific?!! Are there any Anglians out there that have had a decent success with this type of imaging?

Any advice will be very welcome.

For widefield, milkyway shots a dark sky site is fairly important since it's not easy to filter out light pollution over a wide area shot. I've never been down your way but looking at the light pollution UK map from the Avex website:

UK Light pollution Map

I'd suggest heading for the coast and imaging the Milky Way when it's rising in the South East

ipswichlightpollution.jpg

Hi collangm,

I'm in suffolk and like you just starting out in astronomy in general, but I'm now well and truly heading down the astro-photography route.

I have tried a few milkyway shots from my nearest local dark location (out wetheringsett/thorndon way) but long exposures still pick up a bit of light pollution on the horizon. I guess this is from ipswich/needham/stowmarket. I haven't attempted much faceing east yet, but what I have done result in less LP than other directions....

Im yet to suss out all the dark site around here. As suggested above the coast may be your best bet. I do a lot of sea fishing and often find the place's I go, i.e orford island, shingle st, east lane, some of the best dark skies I've come across. Its fishing at these locations that got me into astronomy, I spent more time looking up at the heavens than at my rod tips, lol....

Stan.