C8-SGT or NexStar 8 SE

Sorry but i think i should posted this in the Equipment Help section which i have now done, but you could still give me some ideas in there if you can please.

Hi everyone,

Over the next three months or so im saving the shillings for a new scope, the Celestron C8-SGT or Celestron NexStar 8 SE.

To be honest apart from the mounts that come with each scope, Single Fork Arm Altazimuth on the SE & CG-5 Equatorial on the C8-SGT there does not seem to be much differnece between the two.

Some minor things ie weight, slew speeds & tracking modes etc, what i am after is something giving good clear images, astrophotography suitable, compact really.

I'm not a complete novice but there are so many 'good' scopes out there, like my son in a sweet shop, he just wants them all :-)

I have read that the SE suffers a little wobble at higher mag in a light breeze which is not ideal for imaging, or is that wrong ? where as i assume what looks like a sturdier mount under the SGT this should not occur or at least not as much.

I was originally looking at a new 300mm reflector because i have only ever used those before, but as i understand these two scopes with there long focal length of 2032 can achieve better images.

I am not going to impulse buy as i want to use this scope for many years to come so i can be patient, i am looking at a budget of upto £1,500.00 all, i already have a few 1.25" ep's, filters etc.

Btw the ad for the Nexstar 8 sais this:-

FREE NEXIMAGE WITH THIS TELESCOPE PLUS Free More Powerful 10mm Plossl Eyepiece and 30mm for deep Space along with the Nexremote Telescope Control Software and Lead. EXTRAS COMBINED VALUE £194!!!!!! SAVE £290!! <<<< Is this a good deal ?

Whereas the SGT said :-