NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Potentially advanced - Software substitute for Equatorial Mount?

Hey all,

I'm a newbie so this goes in the newbie section, but this might be an advanced question.

I'm a photographer who has been bitten by the astronomy bug (Cosmos on Hulu!) and I've been looking to do cheap astrophotography... only, I know there's no such thing as cheap astrophotography, as told by google and the array of equipment needed to do it.

I'm also a software guy though, so I've wondered - what about a software solution? Software can be as cheap as free...

Does any software exist that can take multiple exposures taken from a tripod and combine them (with appropriate rotation and translation) into one photo with similar qualities to a long exposure taken with an equatorial mount?

If not, I could potentially write such software, but is it even plausible? I know digital cameras take the received light and turn it into a digital signal, so if the light is so faint that it registers as a zero digital value, adding multiple exposures will get you nowhere...

However, if you could take multiple exposures with a tripod, and then combine them and align them with software, do any of you think there might be some value? How long of an exposure can you manage without an equatorial mount? 1 second? 5 seconds? Longer?

You need to get enough exposure that *something* shows up in the image. It also needs to be short enough that you basically don't get any star streaking. I imagine i could rotate and add images, but not remove individual star streaks.

What is the state of software like this? I hear that observatories nowadays use cheaper alt-az mounts and correct for rotation in software, but they have very sensitive instruments. Could we do what I'm talking about (which is more complex) with our much cheaper digital cameras?

Thanks for indulging a drunk astronomer.

-Taylor