New beginner. New telescope.

Hi this is my first post. Hope everyones well. My telescope ive aquired is as follows -

Startravel 102 SynScan AZ GOTO 102mm Refractor.

Specifications on my new telescope:

# Magnifications (with eyepieces supplied): x25 & x50

# Highest Practical Power (Potential): x204

# Objective Lens Diameter: 102mm

# Telescope Focal Length: 500mm (f/5)

# Eyepieces Supplied (1.25"): 10mm & 20mm

# 6x30 Finderscope

# Fully Multi-Coated Objective Lens

# 45° Erect Image Diagonal (1.25")

# SynScanTM AZ GoTo Computerised Alt-Azimuth HD Go-To Mount

# Power Requirement: 12v DC Power Supply (Tip Positive) or AA Batteries (not supplied)

# Stainless Steel Tripod with Accessory Tray

Im a complete noob. Ive used the plossl's but ive heard they are best for deep viewing in the sky ? (maybe not though) 'Ive only used the telescope once on the moon and on a star / planet yesteday. Not used it at all really. So i was wondering if anyone could recommend any other eyepiece i know my max mag is 100X at the mo with the barlow lens used. But would like to know what the forum thinks ?

Thanks in advance.

p.s. havent mastered the goto system yet as i dont have knowledge on the stars as yet...(but ive purchased a book on them also)

Hi there.

I have the Sky-Watcher StarTravel 102 on an EQ1 mount so I will be interested to know who your scope performs. Like you, I am a complete noob, and trying to get used to my scope, too. It is well worth investing in a better barlow than the one you get with your scope - same goes for eps, but there is no rush. Familiarise yourself with your scope and eps first. Barlows are especially useful for planet/lunar observing as they effectively double you eps magnification! :)