NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Absolute noob - ebay 6" reflector for £100. Should I?

Been looking at Jupiter over the last few nights with a crappy toy scope (£10 plastic from Boots) and I can see the disc and certainly one and possibly four moons.

I am interested in getting a half-decent telescope. I have read the 'Essential reading' post and realise this is going against all its good advice but I don't expect to be getting into this as a serious hobby. I'd like to see the banding on Jupiter, Saturn's rings, classic things like that. I am a bit of a scrooge and don't want to spend more than a ton.

I saw this on ebay:

6" Telescope (6 inch, 152mm)-astronomical NEW on eBay (end time 31-Aug-10 16:40:49 BST)

"This auction is for the smaller Zenith R&D telescope: the Zenith 6" Newtonian reflector. This is a high quality unit with many extras over and above the basic models. Available at the same price that most retailers sell toy telescopes."

I have seen a thread talking about the Zenith 8" scope which seemed to say that it is very likely rubbish. I am assuming the same applies to this but on the other hand it's only 90 quid and I can go an pick it up as I am close to Monmouth. The tripod and mount alone look quite decent to my uneducated eyes.

Would I be better off looking for a 3" reflector, or even a refractor, given that I don't want to go into 3 figures.

Sorry to be asking the same old questions that every newbie asks again!

--- Penguin

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think you can do better than that for under £100.

The fact it has aa 1400mm focal length means that it should be somewhere around 9 times as long as it is wide. It isn't - this is because it uses a, usually poor quality, lens in the focuser tube to elongate the focal length and try to make up for the mirror being spherical instead of parabolic.