Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Zombie CCD!

Hi

First let me say we are total novices here and owned our telescope just a couple of weeks. It's an Orion Europa 6" for your information, bought second hand on ebay.

The Telescope was bought more to satisfy my 6year old daughters curiosity, but I would not of done it if I had not had a latent interest.

From initial fair results with an old webcam or two over the last couple weeks and also some reasonable lunar stills via our Fuji compact digital shot through the eyepiece I wanted to try something else out of curiosity.

Many many compact digitals end their life being dropped or sat on with the lens extended and suffer the dreaded "Lens Error" fault.

So onto ebay again and search for a reasonable camera suffering from this problem. A Nikon P50 8.1 Megapixel seemed interesting and was snapped up for 99 pence! This is a CCD based camera not CMOS.

It arrived and it had stuff rattling arounf inside! Sat on probably.

Nothing to lose bar 99p + a couple pounds for postage. So I extract the lens as carefully as possible from the front.

Notice a IR proximity detector and fiddle around for a while and work out the boot up lens check logic. Camera comes to life with no lens error.

Shutter is in the lens so no saving that, and therefore it's no longer capable of Stills. BUT it has a 640x480 30fps video mode.

Hot glue an adapter to the front and start playing.

Here's a video from this evening.

YouTube - saturn 3rd June 2010 Nikon P50 "Lens Error" Camera

Nothing on some of the images and videos I have seen from others, but I'm fairly pleased as at least my Daughter can see Saturn which is what she has most wanted to see for the last couple weeks. I've watched it a fair bit, BUT she's always in bed long before the best windows to view.

Wayne.....