Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

1st and 2nd night

pr0xibus

Well i am a complete newbie, i bought my telescope skywatcher explorer 150pl EQ3-2 150mm just a mere 2 days ago. This thread will most likely be my own personal diary so i will try to add to it when ever possible. Most of what i will see or say will be of no use to most of you but it will keep me righ.

With this telescope i recieved

2x Barlow Lens 1.25"

Super 10mm Lens

Super 25 Wide Angle Long Eye Relief Lens

This has been the first time looking through a telescope since i was 9, im now 25.

last night i left the telescope out for half an hour @ 2130 to cool down. Looking up Stellarium the only planet i could see that was clearly visible was Saturn, "Im not very good with star names etc etc so never bothered looking at them much "

Starting off with the Super 25 I pointed at saturn and was surprised with the level of detail even with such a low magnification. i could see the planet clearly and the thin band of rings. i then respectivly moved up the magnification For my first time picking up a scope i had the biggest smile ever. Their is something different seeing something in near real time than pictures on the internet its so much better. A few minutes after ten i saw a satellite. I was curious to what it was to start with but in a recent thread someone else had seen it and had been confirmed. I have never seen a satellite in my life, although i never had a look at it through the telescope, it was going far too fast i could see it streak along the sky, "Bingo another smile on my face".

TBH i spent about an hour last night tracking saturn and what a sight it is. About 2315 i started to pack up, i thought first night and i have seen saturn very clearly.

Overall very happy with the telescope and looking forward to many more nights outside.