NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Guiding - Off-axis vs piggyback CCD camera?

AndyUK

Hi there - I'm exploring auto-guiding options on a CG5 mount fitted with a SW Synscan GOTO uograde and considering an off-axis guider as possibly the best option.

As cost obviously cost comes into the equation, my other option is to use my SW ST102 as a possible guide scope, which I reckon would also fall within the payload limit of the mount (with a Celestron 100 ED refractor and a Canon EOS 300D). However, from what I've read, would an Off-Axis guider be a lot simpler to set up and also remove any possible flexure issues?

As auto-guiding is very new to me, I'm also wondering if, as a starter, I could possibly get away with using my unmodified Toucam II 840 as a guide camera, or would I really need to get a better camera to perform this function? Again, as cost is obviously an issue (and I'm a total beginner in this area!), I've looked at an Opticstar AG-131C COOLAIR as a possible option - Does anyone have any experience with this as a guide camera (or maybe I should budget a little more for something more "future-proofed"?)

Because the 100ED will be very slow for imaging (because of its focal ratio) and because it has a longish focal length, you will need good guiding. It may not be an area in which to cut corners! Used with an OAG in a slow scope I would doubt that a webcam based device would be all that likely to pick up stars easily, but I may be wrong.

I wonder if you could pick up a second hand Atik 16ic? I use a couple of these and find them ideal because stars are always 'just there' without hunting. They are very sensitive so hang onto guide stars if some wisps of cloud pass over.

Olly

Cheers Olly - I must admit, I hadn't considered the slow speed of the scope...