Buying a telescope need advice

Hi guys this is a great forum, I am a newbie when it comes to this, I am and always have been into astronomy, I watch documentries on this all the time. Anyway i'm ready to buy my first telescope but I don't really know where to start, as its my 1st im not going to go silly on the price but at the same time want to be able to see better than a pair of binoculars lol.

Anyway I won't waffle on anymore I just want you guys to give me some advice on which telescopes + extras have worked for you so I can get an idea of what I should be going for, all recommendations are welcome and appeciated.

Thanks

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to the forum. The scope depends on what you want to spend and what you want to look at. You need to think about a whole clutch of things;

Whats the budget ?

What do you want to look at ?

Do you intend doing photography ?

Does it need to be portable ? (ie do you have a back garden you'll use it in and if not do you have to lug it somewhere dark - your back garden may be too light polluted for instance to see much)

Do you want GoTo or are you happier finding stuff ?

Where will you store it ? (has an impact on physical size)

What are you hoping to see ?

All of that feeds into the decision you need to make.

i would like it to be portable, i dont mind if its second hand or not. I'm just hoping to see things like saturn and its rings if possible and maybe craters of the moon and take a closer look at orion nebula, plus just gaze through the stars. A goto would be great but as im a newbie I don't know if id spend the money on 1 just yet, im looking at spending around £200 if thats realistic enough.

I'm a newbie too and only had my scope a week, trust me I did a LOT of homework, looking at your budget and what you want, i would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the Skywatcher Explorer 150P and i just know many others on here will agree. :-