SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

My first night woes

Well where to start it was my first night with my new gear, Skywatcher Explorer 250PX OTA on the EQ6 Mount anyway I think I messed up the following: Balancing, aligning the finderscope, pointing the scope to Polaris, and then inputting my coordinates into the Goto and of course star alignment – putting all that aside I was amazed when I manually pointed to the moon and will be out again tonight if conditions are right.

There are a few questions (as always).

I’m pretty sure when I was using the direction arrows on the Hand Controller Left was Right and Right was Left (hope that makes sense)

I cant for the life of me understand how the scope can rotate through 360 Deg ?, I cant believe I would have to manually turn the whole thing 180 Deg to view the other half of the sky

I’m a beginner so please go easy on me

Regards

John B

Hi John, and welcome.

There's loads of information on how EQ mounts work here: Setting Up an Equatorial Mount - McWiki -- they will happily point to any part of the sky by swinging around the two rotation axes. Of course, as you've got a goto scope you don't need to pursuade yourself it'll work: just set it up and ask it to point at things and you'll see that it points at the whole sky quite happily!

I cant believe I would have to manually turn the whole thing 180 Deg to view the other half of the sky

The issue here is that if you allowed the scope to rotate 180 degrees around the polar axis the tube would have to pass through the space occupied by the tripod/pillar.

You soon get used to it.

Work the western half of the sky in the first half of the night, and the eastern half in the morning hours. That way you'll have to reverse the mount once per session.

Thanks with regards to

"The issue here is that if you allowed the scope to rotate 180 degrees around the polar axis the tube would have to pass through the space occupied by the tripod/pillar."