Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Pleiades gone wrong.

Highflight

Is it me or have the Pleiades lost their nebulosity? It's a crisp clear night tonight, so decided to give the big bins an airing and took a look at my fav cluster. I thought I'd got the wrong set of stars to start with, but after carefully locating them, I studied hard but they just don't seem right. All of the nebulosity has dissapeared and just seeing ordinary stars. Anyone know why?

Chris. :icon_eek:

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Maybe the transparency's below average? Check the objectives, too.. if it's damp out they might have some slight fogging on them. Or maybe the eyepieces are fogged up.. when it's cold, this could happen from 'breathclouds' or from your eyes' moisture. :icon_eek:

I think you cannot see the nebulosity with binoculars, I'm afraid - nor even with a fairly large telescope, visually, unless observing conditions are really excellent. If the sky is anything other than utterly dark you won't see anything. It is extremely faint compared to the background sky, and usually needs photography to bring it out. But enjoy the cluster for what it is, visually, a brilliant assemblage of glittering stars! You will see how many more stars the bins reveal, than the naked eye.

Thanks Carol.

I checked for dew/mist, but seems ok. I just dragged the lx90 out to double check, and same thing. The lx90 has dew heaters, so no mist on the lens or ep. Seems strange. I've never seen Pleiades without their coat on. lol.

You cannot see the nebulosity with binoculars, I'm afraid - nor even with a fairly large telescope, visually. It is extremely faint compared to the background sky, and needs photography to bring it out.

With all due respect Pete, you can see the nebulosity visually. :icon_eek:

Link: Nebulosity in The Pleiades