Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A Lil n00b Help

Hello everyone

Could anyone help me

I’m still a newbie to the truest meaning with telescopes, I’ve got my 130mm reflector with my 10mm and 25mm lenses, along with the 2x barrow lens

What's the best way to get started, I was told that star hopping is a good way to find planets, is this the case of finding where the planets going to be near and try to locate it that way?

Any help would be much appreciated :)

Planets are generally very bright compared to stars so are easy to find. Look SE at midnight and you cannot miss Jupiter. It's well worth spending a couple of bob on a star atlas of some sort so you can familiarise yourself with the sky when it is cloudy.

Dennis

The next step is to get a good guide to the night sky. The book "Turn Left at Orion" is well recommended as is the freeware planetarium sofftware "Stellarium". The latter can be downloaded here:

Stellarium

My 3rd recommendation is to keep asking questions here - no matter how daft they may seem to you we have all been there and scratched our heads over how the mount works, where you put the eyepieces, what this bit or that bit is for etc, etc ....:)

Most of all - have fun !.

John

Thanks guys

i've got some software, got one for my iPhone as well which seems good as well

:)

what about the magnification then on the lenses, I mean is it best to start with a lower to find it? i've only had a lil play around in my garden but never really clear enought o see out yet

Hello "petmcr"

As dennis says - look to the South East around midnight and you will see the Planet Jupiter. (It will look like a very bright star). Put a low power (25mm) eyepiece in your scope and you should be able to get it in the field of view. When you have found it, you can try the Barlow with the 25mm eyepiece, then change to the 10mm eyepiece, then the 10mm with Barlow if "seeing" conditions are good enough).