NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello! I'm new to all this...

Hello all,

Firstly, please let me say what a fantastic site you chaps (and ladies) have here. I've been following posts on here for a while and have seen some truly spectacular photos posted on here, which I am deeply in awe of and thank you all for bringing them to me.

Secondly, I'm looking for a bit of advice regarding that evergreen topic "which telescope should I go for?". I appreciate that there are several other posts to this effect already on here, and if I have doubled up at all I can only apologise.

Previously I have only observed the moon with the naked eye and through my 300mm camera lens and 8mp DSLR, which has captured a reasonable, if not spectacular amount of detail, and has energised me to observe further.

I'm really keen to observe the moon close-up, as well as see some of the planets with my own eyes and also maybe dabble with some deep-sky viewing. Crucially, I'd like to be able to photograph everything that I can see. I have a Canon 350D digital SLR and would like to be able to hook this up to the telescope if possible.

I've been looking at a couple of the SkyWatcher telescopes, which have come highly recommended to me. This is where it gets interesting. I've seen the Skywatcher Explorer 130P SupaTrak AUTO (priced at £195) and the Skywatcher Skymax 127 SupaTrak Maksutov-Cassegrain (£295), both of which look great. The 300x magnification on the Maksutov-Cassegrain appeals to me, but I really don't know enough to say whether it's worth the extra £100.

One thing to bear in mind is that my other half has already voiced her disapproval, so the more money I spend, the more likely I am to be sleeping on the sofa!

Any thoughts on the suitability of either of those 'scopes?

Thanks in advice,

Mr. Moon.

Well Mr Moon, first, there is no apologies required on SGL from anyone asking questions. It is one of our prime functions, answering questions.