NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Eyepiece advice for Tal-1 needed please

Hi - I set up my Tal-1 for the first time last night. Got my first proper view of Jupiter even though it's very low at the moment, and almost directly underneath my nearest street light. I was amazed at the quality of the image using the supplied 25mm plossl and 15mm Kellner eyepieces. The four moons were pin sharp but couldn't make out any detail on the planet itself so I increased the magnification using the 3x barlow. Once I managed to re-aquire Jupiter (this took a while as I'm totally new to this, at one stage I thought the barlow may have been defective!) I could make out two bands of colour and was again suitably impressed.

The combination of the 3x barlow and 15mm Kellner gives me (I think) approx 160x magnification, the focal length of the Tal being 805mm or so. At this magnification the image was very bright, I'd assumed that it would fade under the higher power.

Apologies for the long winded ramble but my thoughts went straight to how best to achieve higher magnification. Looking at FLO's website I was drawn to the William Optics SPL eyepiece:

William Optics - William Optics SPL eyepiece

As I'm interested in planetary and lunar observation this looks like possibly a good bet at £67.

If I went for the 3mm eyepiece I would achieve approx 270x magnification. I realise this would require very good seeing conditions but I'm inspired by my excellent views last night. I've also read much about the relative quality of the Tal's optics.

Guidance would be most appreciated, could I even take the magnification higher?

Thanks!

Neil, the general rule of thumb for maximum magnification for a given scope is roughly double the aperture in millimetres so in your case that would be x220 (110mm x 2). However atmospheric conditions won't allow you to reach this maximum unless you have one of those rare nights where it's perfect.