SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Dumb question re' inverted images

Hi

A friend recently bought me a telescope from a car boot.. a jessops F700-80 type.

I've set it up - I think properly - but the terrestrial images are all upside down...

I know that's the natural state and that you need to look through the erecting eyepiece... but i thought that was the one that was in the finderscope eyepiece by default???

Am i being really thick? Or is there another eyepiece needed?

Pleae help!!!!

:-/

I am a newbie so may be I am wrong but both finderscope and telescope images are normally upside down. And you need to buy some lens (or may even several lenses) that fix that. I am sorry but I don't have any idea how those lenses are called. As far as I know those things are not included by default and you need to buy them separately. However I don't think it's something that needs fixing. Last weekend I found Saturn. It looked quite nice and switching it upside-down really wouldn't fix anything. However the inverting finderscope is a bit problematic but I am almost used to it :cool:

hi there! and thank you!

I've looked through it at night and it's great, and I don't notice the upside down thing at all! It's just that if i want to use it outside during the day to look at birds or whatever, it'd be nice to see them the right way up!

An erecting prism is usually a 45º diagonal, and comfortable to use. It also eases the strain of looking through the scope by providing a better angle. You can put a 90º diagonal in it, and use it for both terrestrial viewing and astronomy, as it eases viewing when the scope is at a high angle. The only caveat is the view is reversed left to right, but that isn't hard to get used to.