NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

How to Gauge 'Seeing'

Posted (edited)

Hi List,

Here in Ireland the clarity of the night sky varies enormously from night to night, but can anyone tell me how to quantify the level of 'seeing' from one night to another?

Is it possible to score it using definitive feedback from software such as NINA?

Thanks,

Pat

Edited by Pat Curran
  • Like 1

Posted (edited)

I'm a noob so bare that in mind.

I'm ok at focusing but hfr in Nina seems higher during bad seeing. I realise that's nebulous and not much help, but I'm also interested in the answers to this :( 

There is a column on meteoblu website lists your seeing by the hour in arc seconds.

However, while I'm noob I'm in the UK so that prediction might be as accurate as weather forecast are here ;(

Mine will be just 1.6" at midnight tonight. Apparently.

Can't wait ;)

Edited by TiffsAndAstro

Technically you can use figures from software to give you an idea, but this is affected by guiding and focus. For me it is simple. 95% of the time my seeing is OK, the rest is poor except one night per year when it is good. I should add that I do not image from May to August so I can't comment on summer figures.

• Like 1

I've found when fine focusing and the seeing is decent, you should get fairly consistent FWHM updates on your focusing star at short exposures say 0.5-1s and it shouldn't impact your ability to judge the best focal point. The other day I was trying for focus and the seeing was awful FWHM figures all over the place, short exposures weren't working so had to extend to 2s in the hope they'd average out. Over time you'll know when you see it, also don't use bright stars to focus off, use medium ones.