Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

C925 Hyperstar V4 or RASA 8

Hi everyone,

I'm currently considering going either a Hyperstar V4 for my C925 or the RASA 8.  I understand there are certain compromises to be made moving to one of these systems and I have a few years experience imaging and processing images.  

My real question here is for people who have real experience with a Hyperstar V4 on the C925 XLT and how they find it, how much messing around does it take to dial in.  I also have the Starizona reducer for my system which I use and really like and wonder do you find it hard changing over from one system to the other.  This naturally leads onto should I simply consider a RASA 8? although I have heard these can be hard to dial in and people have expressed reflection issues.

Any advice, pointers and especially real experience would be much appreciated.

Cheers Ollie

Ive been using a HS6 for a while, it's quite straightforward to use tbh though I'm not too picky about edge star shapes, being an SCT a refractor will always result in better in this respect which is what I usually use for star field input in my images (also because the HS mainly performs narrowband duty). I setup and breakdown every time and also don't have much issue with this either.

Whether it's better than a Rasa, maybe not because the Rasa is designed to do one thing, and one thing well. But this is one benefit of the HS system, you can still use the scope for visual and planetary imaging, long FL reduced imaging and fast wide imaging via the HS, so gives the rare use scenario of being a one scope system.