Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

24th June C8 session - bagging Lunar 100 objects

Paz

I set up for a session on the moon this evening not expecting the best of views but just being out in nice warm weather. I recently resolved to change some of my observing habits so I was armed with a sketching pad which I have been using more often lately, and I resolved to identify and properly observe more new objects using the Lunar 100 list. I found a useful webpage of the Lunar 100 with a map of where they are plus a list describing/naming each item under the map.

Lunar 100 (wilmslowastro.com)

I've been going back through my observing notes and ticking off what I have seen already but this is my first time deliberately picking objects on a list for viewing rather than I view what I like which might or might not be on a list. I picked the Mare Serenitatis area as the terminator was just about past it so I thought anything there would be a good start. I was set up with a C8, 1.7x GPC, binoviewers and 20,mm SLVs for 173x and was using an EQ5 for tracking, which meant I could easily concentrate on what I was looking at. The seeing wasn't perfect, and with thin cloud coming and going it varied constantly, but I was quite focused on getting some new targets so the seeing didn't really register much with me, whereas normally it would be a preoccupation dwelling on the seeing conditions.

Sulphicius Gallus dark mantle (Lunar 100 - Number 71) - it sounded like a villain from a Harry Potter book but it is in fact a Lunar dark feature from volcanic sources. I had a read up and apparently it is rich in titanium, iron, and volcanic glasses. I spent a long time on this and did a dodgy sketch which I won't inflict upon the internet. The dark mantle was vaguely apparent from the beginning but it was really obvious by the time I finished sketching having concentrated on it. It's now going to be one of those features that really stands out every time I pass that area by.