Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Slew speeds Meade 125

Well after a few traumatic problems with my Meade 125 PE, with broken controllers, new controllers, lost controllers in the post, I now have a new one!

I just cannot get the 125 to slew at a slow speed so I can get the scope aligned with the red dot. Every time I put in a figure for the speed it comes up with Guide=

I am still not up to scratch with this scope because I am still a beginner. Kid gloves please!

I have a small Meade and have a recollection of similar problem.

Just it was so long ago that I cannot recall what the solution was.

For some reason I have the idea that I had to in effect dummy align the scope first. As in plonk in on the ground (on tripod) get it fairly level then say Align. At the 2 alignment stars just accept whereever it went to. After that it would be happy as it thought that it had been aligned and so operate "normally".

Part of the problem I had with your post is that I could get what it was you were trying to do.

The post sounds as if you are moving the scope to be parallel to the red dot. Since I guess the red dot is fixed/screwed on the scope (mine is) they both move.

You don't want the scope moving while aligning as you point the scope at a target and leave it there without it moving. Then tweek the red dot to align it to the scope by getting whatever target the scope is centred on coincident with the red dot.

You don't want the scope to be slewing at all. If you want a slow slew speed to try and align a red dot to the slow moving scope I wish you luck. I would just get the scope on a target then pull the power so that it stayed fixed.

Somewhere I had a good chart of all the things that could come up on a Meade, and it showed how the scope got to that state. Just wish I could find the thing as I needed it a couple of months back.

Sorry Capricorn, I did not explain it properly did I?