Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Recommendations on how to improve my image of the heart nebula - post processing

Hello, I'm a beginner and have been following some tutorials on pre and post-processing, but I'm sure I can do better with this nebula!

I managed to get some clear skies last night and took around 30x160s lights and the same biases, flats, and darks. Using an 80mm SW refractor, HEQ5 Pro, flattener, 600d astromodified. I'm using an l-enhance filter for the first time too.

I've used siril and this guide to both pre-process all of the frames into one image, and then some basic post-processing as mentioned in the tutorial. Which produced the image attached to this post.

After pre-processing and photometric colour calibration, I see a lot of detail in the red channel, more so than comes out in the final post-processed image. I'm not sure but based on this can I do a better of job of getting all of that detail from the red channel to show in the final image?

Any advice on how to produce a better image with this nebula would be much appreciated.

I've used Siril and Gimp so far but I also have a trial licence for PixInsight I can use too.

Thanks!

heartnebulajpg2.jpg

Screenshot 2022-12-08 at 09.45.52.png

Screenshot 2022-12-08 at 09.46.01.png

Screenshot 2022-12-08 at 09.46.07.png

Screenshot 2022-12-08 at 09.46.14.png

1 hour ago, AstroLearnerWill said:

I've used Siril and Gimp so far

Siril and Gimp are all you need, but it takes time to master both. And don't rely to much on tutorials, try to find a workflow that suits you and get the most out of your data. In this case it looks like your color balance is way out.