Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help needed with M33 processing in PI

Here's my first attempt at the Triangulum galaxy (M33) shot on 22nd September. I'm not particularly happy with this image and really struggled with the processing. This is exactly 3 hours of data (2 min subs) and stacked in DSS then processed in Pixinsight. I'm still on a trial version of PI so am a complete novice with it but I just couldn't extract any colour from the image without really boosting the saturation and therefore introducing loads of noise and gradient. I'm not sure where I'm going wrong with this.

I've also attached the DSS output for reference.

Skywatcher 72ED DS Pro
ZWO533MC Pro
Astronomic L3 filter
Star Adventurer
Guided via ASIAir Plus

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

M33-PI-Low.jpg

Autosave.tif

Here's my attempt

M33_CraigD1986.thumb.jpg.6855b64a137f0c91504f194fc6ce7acf.jpg

• Dynamic Crop
  • DBE
  • Photometric Colour Calibration including background neutralisation
  • Multiscale Median Transformation noise reduction och chrominance only (removes colour mottle)
  • (cloned)
  • arcsinh stretch
  • star removal (M33_galaxy)
  • contrast enhancement and colour saturation on M33_galaxy
  • Histogram transformation on the cloned image (M33_stars)
  • (cloned again)
  • star removal on the second clone (M33_starless)
  • combination of three images in PixInsight: M33_galaxy + M33_stars - M33_starless

I had to separate the image in its colour components and realign those components in order to remove the chromatic aberration and dispersion effects

Edited by wimvb
  • Like 1

Here is my try, with ASTAP, Siril and Photoshop:

Autosave_graig_bin2x2-photoccbkg-siril-ps.jpg.022787f11350a4d5e3d773b3f610a064.jpg