NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

SVBony 50mm guidescope focal length

One fyi for others really.

I've been using this for 6 months or so, and took SVBony at their word, setting 240mm as the FL in asiair for guiding. tbh, it's worked fine, with a 0.6" RMS on my EQ6-r pro most of the time.

Last night though I thought I'd let asiair plate solve it.. and it says it's 175mm!

The info itself from svbony is not exactly clear:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Svbony-Helical-Focuser-Astronomy-Telescope/dp/B07N1BNS4C

50mm..F4.. but 240mm FL.

Anyway, my assumption is that a plate solve cannot lie, so I set it to 175mm for guiding.

Whether that helped or it was just good seeing, my RMS last night was often 0.3" for many subs.

Possibly one for @vlaiv to explain ?

I'd say that is normal.

First - drop in measured RMS. By entering correct focal length - you changed unit of measure. Different unit of measure gives different numerical value.

I weigh 120 in Kg, but if I measure myself in lbs - that is 264.5. Does that mean that I'm suddenly heavier? No - I weigh the same, it just different units.

Guiding at 0.3" RMS, does that mean you have excellent mount? I guess not. At 175mm of guider FL - odds are that you have too coarse measuring device to precisely measure RMS value. Say you are using camera with 3.75µm pixel size to guide (I see both ASI244 and ASI120 in your signature).

That gives guide resolution of about 4.4". Centroid precision is 1/16 to 1/20 of a single pixel - so you can precisely measure star position in range 4.4" / 16 = 0.275 to 4.4" / 20 = 0.22"

Let's take value of 0.25" to be your guide star position precision measurement.

RMS measure is measure of how different / dispersed measured values are and say your real RMS is 0.6" (how much values "oscillate" around true value). However, you are trying to measure it with something that has precision of almost half of that. You simply can't precisely measure and express this value correctly.