NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

"The Owl and the Pussycat" in HST palette

GordonH

Hi all

Ok, so it isn't the owl and the pussycat but I couldn't resist a play on words. I have never tried M97 before and as a planetary nebula I knew it would be ok for narrowband imaging. Given the sky conditions last night it was ideally placed, ie high up near the zenith. Originally I was only planning Ha and OIII as I had looked on other sites and not many people had used SII (perhaps because there was virtually none). I hadn't planned on getting M 108 but when composing the image saw that it was in the same shot so I got 2 for the price of 1. I had originally planned on 12x10 minutes unguided for each filter which is what I shot but during the session there must have been some patches of icy moisture in the atmosphere as a few subframes were ruined for each filter. At the end of the session I still had about an hour left till day light so I shot one SII frame and saw that there was something coming through although much fainter than Ha and OIII so I left it running and got 4 useable subframes. This is the end result with 8x10 minutes for Ha, 7x10 minutes for OIII and 4x10 minutes for SII combined as SII:Ha:OIII = R:G:B with a weighting of 3:3:1. Taken with the Takahashi BRC-250 and H36. There are two close up cropped images of the galaxy and nebula themselves on my website http://www.imagingtheheavens.co.uk which show these objects in greater detail

Thanks for looking

Best wishes

Gordon

post-13589-133877355125_thumb.jpg

Hi

Thanks for the comments, believe me it is not easy, it takes a lot of patience to get things right, if you don't believe me check the earlier images on my website. It also means long nights in the freezing cold (mind you I have got that sorted now with my jacket)

Best wishes

Gordon

Hi All