Jump to content

sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_2.thumb.jpg.72789c04780d7659f5b63ea05534a956.jpg

Jupiter Occults Mag +5.9 Star - 2021 APR 02


Recommended Posts

During the predawn hours of 2021 APR 02, there may appear to be a fifth Galilean satellite around Jupiter. Actually, it will be the magnitude +5.9 star 44 Capricorni. 

Some observers in eastern North America may be able to witness the star during nighttime being occulted by Jupiter for over an hour. This would be a daytime occultation for Europe. Optical aid would be needed to witness this due to the brilliance of Jupiter overwhelming the star.

I calculate that the star will be occulted from 08:48 to 10:00 UT (03:48 to 05:00 CDT – 04:48 to 06:00 EDT).

Photos and descriptions of the event would be welcome additions to this thread.

Jupiter-44-Cap.JPG.cedc7933fff0794e6f366bdabeb07bf8.JPG

Edited by CentaurZ
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • CentaurZ changed the title to Jupiter Occults Mag +5.9 Star - 2021 APR 02
  • 2 months later...

Reminder:

This rare event will occur predawn Friday for eastern North Americans. Some Europeans may be able to witness the occultation despite daylight.  😀

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue. By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.