Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EQ-7 Mount & Cartes du Ciel

Hi Guys,

i'm relatively new to this, and bought Reflector telescope in a local supermarket recently. It's on an EQ-7 Equatorial mount. I know about the two axis being Right Assention and Declination, but i'm struggling to translate between computerised star charts and the telescope mount itself.

So, just to make sure everyone knows what i'm talking about...

I have a big wheel, which has the numbers 0 to 23 going one way, and 0 to 23 going the other way. (but they cross over, so in one place i'd have 1 & 13 displayed etc)

I have a little wheel, which has the numbers 0 to 9 going one way, and 0 to 9 going the other (they don't cross over).

Now i assumed that when "balancing" the telescope, i needed to have all of these at 0, set the Latitude at 53degs (i'm in NW England), and then turn the whole telescope to face north.

Problem is, i locked onto this, and then got the location for Saturn earlier... at 11hrs 30, 53, 9degs. So i moved the axis accordingly... and ended up pointing at the moon... Which wasn't where i wanted to be at all (i knew they were well away from eachother in the sky).

I've got a week without my fiance this week, so will have lots of fiddling time with my scope, but I'd rather spend the time looking at specific objects, or at least being able to find out what i'm looking at, rather than trying to figure this one out...

Anyone help me out?

Ok, since you've got adjusting for latitude figured out, do this: In the early evening put your scope out and find Polaris, the North Star. Point the small wheel to zero, and centre the North Star in the field of view of the telescope using only the latitude adjustment and the directional adjustment at the bottom of the mount, the one that swings the whole mount in the horizontal plane.

Once the scope is pointing at Polaris, this is a good time to line up the finder scope so that the finder is also pointing at Polaris.