SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Beginner: Celestron Nexstar Evolution

Hello all. I’m new to this, but after a little reading i’m saving hard to have the best possible start.

I’ve got the Celestron Nexstar Evolution 8 stuck in my mind as I save, but now I’m getting close i’m getting tempted by the Edge HD with starsense or the 9.25. 

I’m keen on viewing rather than imagining, looking at the moon, planets and hopefully some deep space goodness. 

Any words of advice or guidance from more experienced folk?

Any recommendations on which Celestron Nexstar Evolution kit? (If those are even still considered a good choice)

What extra eyepieces would you suggest?

What other equipment is typically recommended?

Is there an online resource that will give me an idea on what (size and clarity) I should expect to see notable objects through the eyepiece on a good night? (Not doing imaging)

Very much appreciate your time! Such a wonderful forum and community.

Cheers,

Dave in New Zealand

Hi Dave, 

If you're not going to do imaging then don't bother with the edge scopes, you'll be paying a lot more money just to get the extreme edge of the view to be flat which is really more of an imagers thing.

Having said that ... I have a C8 edge which I love, it's good on planets and really sweet on the Moon. As for deep space, 8" will show a lot depending on your local light pollution. I went for the edge as in my strange mind I felt I'd maybe try imaging later on and preferred the look of the edge scope !

Good luck choosing.

Oh ... That's just an idea of image scale in the eyepiece, the human eye won't pick up colour on very faint objects .

Have a look on our forums sketching section, that will give an idea of what's visible with your eyes.

The C8 is a fine instrument, but if you don't mind spending extra you could go for one of the more expensive alt-az mounts rather than the base SE version.