NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Beginning Meteor Detection

I am completely new to radio astronomy (and Ham Radio in general).  I have put together a simple meteor detection system consisting of FunCube Pro+ Dongle and an off the shelf 4 Element Yagi Antenna (2m 144MHz-146MHz).  I'm following the S@N article, some other material on the BAA website, and https://stargazerslounge.com/topic/220150-new-to-meteor-detecting/.

I'm working on a Mac (because I want to make my life as hard as possible!).  I have managed to install the Mac version Qthid 4.1 and got Spectrum Lab V2.92 working under WINE / PlayOnMac.  My antenna is vertically aligned and pointing SSE.  I have connected the antenna to the dongle via a 9m lead with a SMA connector.  The dongle is attached to my Mac via a 1.8m USB extension cable.  Setting Qthid to 92.5 MHz (Qthid 4.1 appears to work in MHz not kHz) and using Spectrum Lab's audio output I can play a very crackly Radio 4 through my Mac's speakers.

The worrying thing is disconnecting the antenna cable from the dongle the reception is about the same.  Is this normal (this is where I feel like a new dad again)?

I re-tuned to 143.048 MHz and loaded the MetScat_starter_v1.USR configuration and waited a 10-15 minutes to see if I could see any meteors on the screen.  Nothing showed up - obviously we are nowhere near a meteor shower and only sporadic meteors will be around at this time.

A few things to note (I think most of this is clutching at straws as Radio 4's signal should be so strong):

• The antenna is 2m high off the ground sitting adjacent to a uPVC conservatory, but has clear line of sight South East and South.
  • I brought the antenna in to the conservatory change the orientation to horizontal and rotated the direction it pointed.  I could not improve the Radio 4 signal by doing this only match it's performance outside pointing SSW.
  • The antenna cable is not of the best quality and does not have many strands.