NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Pixel size, binning, over/undersampling, etc. - Help please...!!

geoflewis

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to CCD imaging and will be using 2 very different imaging trains with the same CCD camera, a QSI583 which has the KAF8300 sensor with square pixels at 5.4µm.

The 2 imaging trains are:

• C14+Optec focal reducer yielding FL = 2575 (F7.25) (0.43 arc sec per pixel)
  • TSAPO100Q 100mm (4") - FL = 580mm

I am trying to understand what binning I should use, if any, for both configurations, but especially when I'm using my C14.

I've been reading around the topic somewhat, but I haven't reached a clear understanding. What I think I understand is that to optimise performance the CCD camera's pixels should be approximately one third the FWHM of a star as produced by your telescope. Assuming seeing of say 3 arcsecs and using the formulae Star Size = (Seeing * Focal Length)/206.3 and Nyquist criteria = 3.3 I get the following:

Star Size = ((3*2574)/206.3) = 37.43 (NB FL = 355*7.25 = 2574)

Star Siize/Nyquist = 37.43/3.3 = 11.34 optimum pixel size

I have no idea where the 206.3 comes from, nor why I should use Nyquist = 3.3, but I trust the formulae and don't really need to know this. If my calculations are correct then as I suspected the C14 configuration with the QSI583 Kodax 8300 sensor is significantly oversampled. I'm therefore concluding that I should always bin when imaging with this configuration, but is that bin 2x2, 3x3, 4x4 or what please? e.g. does binning 2x2 give me an effective pixel size of 10.8µm, not so far off the calculated 11.3 optimum, or am I completely off track with my very limited understanding thus far?