NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

I did warn you!

Right I'll dive in....

Yes it's the this vs that question from another new person.  I've read all of the posts and all of the suggestions.

As a photographer I know how important the light gathering aspects of aperture is.  Also I know how important the rigidity of the mount is.

Back to the same old question that you have seen on here a multitude of times.

Nexstar 4SE vs 127SLT Both Maks, one on an SE mount the other on the SLT mount.

Now, I'm quite sure that I can stiffen up the SLT mount so that's not really the question that I have.

It is purely down to optical quality.  Better coatings on the 4SE vs 1" more aperture on the 127SLT?  Initially I want to view/photograph the moon and then planets.

Also, of course there is always an also, how much does the ability of the 4SE to be able to track (and photo)via it's built in wedge, nebulae and other DSO's VS the extra 1" light gathering capability of the 127SLT?

These are my first questions (I'm sure there will be many more!) I look forward to your answers and experience!

Thanks

MZ

Hi

Being a photographer you probably already have a load of prime lenses these with a dslr can be great for DSO imaging, 135mm a popular length. Those two scopes great for planets but your potential lens stock likely to be fast focal ratio better for DSO imaging which are often faint and broad.

Altaz mounts work by moving left right up down movement so exposure length is limited to when rotation become visible, approx 15-45 seconds. Don't know how accurate the wedge is, depending on your aim you might want to consider an equatorial mount.