NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

M45

abodee2

This is my first attempt trying to image anything a couple nights ago, i think i struggled to polar align well because the goto didn't catch any objects in the centre of the eye piece so thats maybe why i got some trailing? I could see the pleiades really well with my naked eye which was wonderful so i thought i'd try my hand at imaging since the camera was sitting in the car. Was going to wait a bit and just do observing for a while until i get the hang of everything before trying to image stuff but i couldn't resist trying. 

Would love to hear any feedback, i know its poorly but we've all got to start somewhere i suppose!

post-46639-0-71965700-1441993352_thumb.p

OK, higher then I expected so a strange idea I had is not applicable, they were 30+ degrees above the horizon.

I asked as the previous time I saw them it was about the same time but they were just crawling up over the horizon, and when low (very low) you can get a strange effect coming through.

I suppose the question returns to why the goto did not centre anything.

OK, higher then I expected so a strange idea I had is not applicable, they were 30+ degrees above the horizon.

I asked as the previous time I saw them it was about the same time but they were just crawling up over the horizon, and when low (very low) you can get a strange effect coming through.

I suppose the question returns to why the goto did not centre anything.

I had a lot of trouble with polar alignment, It was really clear with my own eye but I just couldn't find it easily with the polar scope. I'm guessing that's what's most likely to cause it? What do you think? I'm going to try again tonight if the weather keeps up

Start by looking at the colour balance because the entire image, including the background sky, is blue.

Olly

tinkered with it a bit in GIMP just now 

post-46639-0-51940700-1441997256_thumb.p