NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Problem with CG5 GOTO

Hi

First may I say that I am new to the CG5 Goto but am conversant with Celestron Goto. I have used this Mount 3 times and the goto has been accurate but last night it missed Capella, the first star by approx. 20 degree alt downwards. I tried 4 or 5 times again with the same result. I use GPS so the settings should be OK but I switched it off and entered the up dated time (daylight setting) date and coo-rds. Same result. So I turned on the GPS, tried again and again it missed by the same margin. I therefore loosened the clamps and manually turned the scope to Capella, re tightened and carried on successfully, spot on. It would seem that the line up arrows on the Mount are incorrectly positioned but it had been OK on the previous nights. It also seems that it is looking for Capella where it would be approx, 1 hours time. As I say not being used to equatorial mounts, I ask myself if this is the normal way to operate them. Maybe someone can advise me.

Robin

Not familiar with goto's Robin, but do you have to put the time in as daylight saving? surely it should be still GMT / UHT. The universe doesn't keep daylight saving time, so everything is still there in the same place, time wise.

As you say the scope points to where Capella would be in an hours time.

Maybe some one conversant with goto's will be along in a moment.

naz