Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Galaxies with Lodestar(Live) Colour

Dom543

Galaxy season tilts the playing field in favor of the higher sensitivity and resolution of the mono sensors.

The only area left for owners of colour cameras is to try to catch the subtle blue of the star forming regions visible in some of the brighter galaxies. This is my first attempt to do that on a clear but windy night.

post-26379-0-47411800-1431107412.jpg

Three of the five live stacked frames were taken with a blue filter, the remaining two with no filter. More exactly with a clear focusing filter (with no IR-cut) to retain parfocality. Luminance had to be kept low not to overwhelm and wash out the subtle colours. So the cost of retaining colour was the low overall brightness and hence loss of most of the fainter spiral arms.

I would have also liked to try M101 but it was difficult to get even the one minute total needed for M51 between the gusts of the winds. M101 is much fainter and allows less focal reduction.

The crucial factor that makes these types of live images possible is the excellent stacking routine built into LodesterLive v.0.11.

Clear Skies!

--Dom

This is the outcome of my second attempt from the leeward side of the house.

post-26379-0-07305900-1431206871.jpg

The cost of longer integrations, and hence of brighter image, is the larger blown out galaxy centers.

I cannot get the sharp contrasty separation of the areas of different colors with the non-linear DR mapping options.

I would be interested to hear any explanations of why the star forming regions in the smaller galaxy appear to be concentrated along the axis connecting the two galaxy centers. It's almost like an angular segment...

Clear Skies!

--Dom

Dom,

Check out this Hubble image:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/NGC_5195#/media/File:Messier51_sRGB.jpg